From Off the Shelf

Lighthouse by Eugenia Price

Yesterday I wrote about Eugenia Price and mentioned her St. Simons Trilogy.  Today I thought I would continue the theme and write about the first book in the Trilogy, “Lighthouse.” “Lighthouse” was originally published in 1971.  It was the third book in the Trilogy, although the first chronologically.  Eugenia started with “Beloved Invader” set after …

Read more

When Breath Becomes Air

“When Breath Becomes Air” by Paul Kalanithi is a beautiful, life-affirming book about dying.  Paul was a neurosurgery resident who was pursuing the goal of finishing and becoming a professor of neurosurgery.  He was so focused on the end of this goal that he nearly let the hours and stress destroy his marriage.  And then …

Read more